Guernsey's unique Parishes

Guernsey is divided into 10 parishes, and one of the beauties of the island is that each parish has its own distinct identity, culture, history and landscape.

These are not quaint vestiges of a vanishing past, people are proud of their parish and the differences are celebrated.  Even the food, religion, folklore and language can differ from parish to parish.  The architecture varies from dockland-style apartments, Georgian townhouses, Victorian terraces, chocolate-box fisherman cottages, and granite farmhouses.

It is believed that the parishes became established in the 11th and 12th centuries when Christianity was adopted.  These ecclesiastical boundaries form today’s civil administrative districts with the douzaines responsible for parochial affairs.

Read our parish guides for more details

Got a question? We're here to help.

With over 50 years of experience, Swoffers are Guernsey’s largest and most established estate agent and your team of property professionals.

Mortgage Calculator


Document Duty
Monthly Repayments
(Additional Residence Duty* )
You also need to factor in legal fees, court, Greffe, registration and bond fees which are variable depending on the size, nature and complexity of the purchase. *Properties purchased that are not utilised as a primary residence will incur an additional 2% document duty.

To find out more about a Swoffers Mortgage,
please call us today on 01481 711766

{{prop_name}} has been added to your viewing list

0 properties saved - arrange viewing